The mother lode…

I had the opportunity to purchase a basement full of vintage items today.  I don’t get the opportunity to buy in this kind of bulk very often.  I was aware of several good pieces in the lot, but much remained an unknown.  Probably the coolest surprise was finding several “smoking donkeys”.  I believe these may be a good eBay item.

IMG_2479

I’m pretty sure I can add faster in my head than I could ever do with these old machines.

There was tons of glassware.  Not my favorite thing, but some of it will sell pretty well I think.  I will have to get pics later.  Lots of sorting and scrubbing to do here.

One of the most unusual things I found was a lamp made to look like a coffee grinder.  There are old coffee beans in glass globe just below the shade.  They look pretty disgusting.

An old wooden bread box produced these surprises.

IMG_2488

The little red AM transistor radio looks to never have been used.

Now I like about any vintage item in its original packaging so when I discovered these old, new stock can openers and bottle stoppers I was pretty excited.  The item may not be worth much, but the fact the packaging has survived is really cool.  I also like the shoe polish can.

IMG_2489

I saved the best for last.

IMG_2480

If this nearly 8 foot sign isn’t big enough how about doubling the size.

IMG_2481

I like signs and just about anything soda related.  It may be hard to part with these.

Leave a Reply

