A few Saturday finds

After a couple of weeks of very little activity I finally got the chance to get out and hunt up a few new things.  Saturday morning saw me making a mid morning pick up from an online sale.  Most of my purchases were a variety of farm tools.  I did buy a wooden box of small hand tools mostly because there was a neat piece of advertising in the box.  A floating fillet knife with advertising for a Gulf Oil and Tire distributor caught my eye and realizing there were enough other pieces to pay for the lot I jumped at the opportunity.  No pics yet, but maybe in a later post.

I also was able to attend an auction.  It really wasn’t one of the better auctions I’ve ever  attended.  My preference for an auction is lots of vintage and antique smalls.  I will buy the occasional piece of furniture, but that’s not what I’m usually looking to find.  I did purchase a nice primitive farm table at this sale.IMG_2437

One of the things I often like, but seldom buy is clocks.  I’m always afraid that there will be mechanical problems and it is generally hard to test them.

IMG_2436

I made an exception with this one.  I figured at $1 it was a no brainer.  Turns out it works great.

The rest of the best include a couple of old tobacco knives.  These have historic significance in the area and should be an easy sell.  A Bluegrass (formally Belknap) tack hammer and a Keen Kutter stone mason’s hammer were also good finds.

IMG_2435

One thought on “A few Saturday finds

Leave a Reply

